Fireflies in the Night Take Wing
June 23–26, 2016

Metamorphosis: The SNFCC to the World: June 23–26

Stavros Niarchos Foundation

Video art survey organized by curators Barbara London, Kalliopi Minioudaki, Francesca Pietropaolo with artistic director Robert Storr

Following last summer’s Fireflies in the Night—a three-night non-stop dusk-to-dawn video survey of some of the best art of its kind produced internationally that was projected on screens located on the great lawn of the Stavros Niarchos Park—this year’s installment, titled Fireflies in the Night Take Wing, will consist of 11 separate looped video programs screened at 11 sites scattered throughout the SNFCC buildings and grounds. Each of these hour-long loops will be composed of different works by more than 50 international artists representing 29 countries—including Greek artists active in the cosmopolitan context of contemporary art. 
In the spirit of French modernist poet and critic Charles Baudelaire’s concept of the urban wanderer—“le flâneur,” who discovers the marvels of the city according to chance and whim—this dispersed and varied program may be discovered in whatever sequence suits the viewer’s fancy. These far flung screenings will in effect map the key areas of the SNFCC and will be presented free-of-charge to the general public after each evening’s schedule of stage events. People will be encouraged to come-as-they-are, make themselves comfortable and follow their curiosity. 

Artists in the exhibition include:
Marte Aas, Shiva Ahmadi, Bill Balaskas, Bahar Behbahani, Sylvie Blocher, Pauline Boudry and Renate Lorenz, Luca Buvoli, Paolo Canevari, Seoungho Cho, Marianna Christofides, Moyra Davey, Angela Detanico and Rafael Lain, Lili Reynaud-Dewar, Cheryl Donegan, Ninar Esber, Patricia Esquivias, Yang Fudong, Aikaterini Gegisian and Fatma Çiftçi, IC-98 (Visa Suonpää and Patrik Söderlund), Marion Inglessi, Alfredo Jaar, Eleni Kamma, Mikhail Karikis, Mary Reid Kelley with Patrick Kelley, Bouchra Khalili, Basim Magdy, Ato Malinda, Jenny Marketou, Oscar Muñoz, Luke Murphy, Shirin Neshat, Adrian Paci, Sondra Perry, Liliana Porter, Diana Fonseca Quiñones, Yvonne Rainer, Raqs Media Collective (Jeebesh Bagchi, Monica Narula, and Shuddhabrata Sengupta), Julian Rosefeldt, Tom Sachs, Erica Scourti, Michael Smith, Lina Theodorou, Stefanos Tsivopoulos, Jannis Varelas, Erika Vogt,Hu Wei, Monika Weiss, Jane and Louise Wilson, Poka-Yio, Katerina Zacharopoulou, and Katarina Zdjelar

error: Content is protected !!